Kistmet’s Kiss – Cate Rowan

Storyline: It’s like the King and I with a lot less singing and a whole lot more sexy. Cate Rowan has spun a fabulous Middle Eastern romantic fantasy with Kismet’s Kiss.

The Great Sultan Kuramos is facing down an enemy that even the most mighty of warriors and greatest of kings cannot overcome: a disease born of a goddess’ curse. This mysterious plague has sickened many members of the royal family and there seems to be no hope until he reaches out to a neighboring realm of Teganne – known for its great healers and magic.

The Royal Healer Varene na Seryn is as talented and stubborn as she is beautiful. Combining her healing knowledge and magic, she must overcome the sickness that is taking the Sultan’s family and servants one by one.

Can Sultan Kuramos and the Healer Varene overcome their differences to save the royal family? Will his strange customs and distrust of magic be the wedge that keeps these two apart or will it draw them together as the fates so will it?

Grammar/Spelling: I noticed a few errors; I would recommend another good read through by a beta reader.

Character Development: As a strong-willed (ok, really, I’m more “stubborn” than “strong-willed” because I have very little will power when it comes to chocolate…I mean, really… It’s quite sad.) woman myself, I can absolutely relate to the Royal Healer’s refusal to play second (or even seventh) fiddle to an old fashioned custom that puts the man in charge.

Not only am I the Queen of Commas, I am also the Empress of Mixed Signals and Kismet’s Kiss was definitely a story of two ships passing in the night. That being said, throughout Kismet’s Kiss Varene and Kuramos are definitely wandering over into my Land of Confusion (not to be confused with that great Genesis track) and you are left wondering if they’re ever going to get it together.

Writing Style: The story quickly grabs the reader’s interest and pulls the reader through the sensuous and magical desert land of Kad. Ms. Rowan’s fantasy world is unique and mysterious. I really felt like I was transported (possibly via magic carpet) into a land of endless desert and talking jencel-birds.

Even though this is a romance novel, the love scenes are actually few and far between; so even the most modest of readers could enjoy Kismet’s Kiss.

Continuity:  No issues with continuity.

Overall Rating: 4+

Ms. Cate Rowan’s novel, Kismet’s Kiss, was a breath of fresh air with a whole new world (HA! Like I could resist swiping a line from Disney’s Aladdin!  You’d have been sad and disappointed if I wrote this entire review without mentioning it at least once. Admit it.) set in the very ancient world of the Middle East.

I encourage all of you lady folks to read this one (and maybe even you men folks can read it too… I won’t judge you…) and get lost in a sexy world of love, magic and mystery.

, , , , , ,

