The Eye of the Idol – Paul Dayton

Storyline: We should all keep an eye on the Paul Dayton as his story, The Eye of the Idol, is surely the first out of many successful books.

The Eye of the Idol follows an incredible journey from the early 1600s to present day and impacts nearly every corner of the globe along its amazing journey and mystery.

The story starts with an obsession and a murder that leads to a series of unfortunate accidents and even more mysteries and murders. What could possibly be in that box that would mean the destruction and potential start of another world war?

Follow SIS agent Coleman, Detective Antonin and Professor Sanchez as they attempt to chase the clues to solve the mystery before it’s too late.

Storyline: Mr. Dayton would make any boring history class a lively and entertaining experience with his true talent of taking seemingly unrelated (and potentially boring) historical events and weaving them all together into a believable and compelling story.

Grammar/Spelling: I have a few, let’s call them quirks (I like that better than “ticks” because “ticks” implies that either I’m a little mad like the Hatter or I’ve been in the woods and forgot to check for those gross hitchhikers), one of which is the misuse of ethnic descriptors. I have a rule as it pertains to Asian peoples: If it’s a rug, it’s Oriental. If it’s a person, they’re Asian.

Of course, if the character is designed to be racist, then I can adjust the rule for that personality flaw, but I don’t think Mr. Dayton intended that when he wrote up this sentence: “Of those twenty, are any oriental looking?” I only noticed it once and it should be an easy fix.

Character Development: From the laidback Canadian agents, the oh-so-proper and well-prepared British SSI agent to the delusional North Korean agents, the characters are wonderfully developed. I even found the poor Jesuit priest who became obsessed with the Eye of the Idol easy to imagine – given I’ve met my fair share of fanatical Christians here in the south. (Not knocking those of the Flock – just saying I’ve met a few that kind of made me say, “Whhhhaaaaaaaat?!” and then quickly run away.)

Writing Style: His use of flashbacks and references to actual events and stories told from the point of view of someone going through the experience is fantastic. It really did seem like a movie. Maybe I lack the imagination to think beyond the reference of a movie with flashbacks, but dang it! That’s how I sees ‘em!

Continuity: No issues with continuity.

Overall Rating: 4

Diamonds. North Korean agents. British spies. Murder. Mystery. And even some Canadians. This story has it all.

Get out your Kindle, your Wikipedia and get to readin’ The Eye of the Idol. It’s sure to grab you by your scruff and shake some knowledge, action and adventure into ya!

A great read for everyone over the age of, let’s say, 14 because I have a hard time imagining my 6 year old son really following along with all of the historical references and there are some particularly violent situations, as well as adult language.

Great job, Paul! You’ve really knocked it out of the park with this one!

, , , , ,

